Doodlewash®

Baby Turtle Doodlewash

Yesterday’s post got me thinking about childhood pets that used to be really popular so today’s little thing is a baby turtle. In the late 70’s I had a friend up the street who had 3 of these little guys and I used to visit them. Actually the kid was sort of weird and there was always something a bit off about him, but since he had baby turtles and I didn’t, that meant he was my friend. Things were a little more black and white in childhood.

The turtles were super cute, but I forget what their names were. What I remember more were the various urban legends of baby turtles being flushed down toilets only to live on as large sewer creatures. These stories would later become the foundation for the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles in the early-mid 80’s. This was disturbing to me and I remember telling my…

View original post 320 more words

