Moved to africatheology.com

Writing LessonsIn 2014, I published my first book, The Good Shepherd: Grace Sets Back Your Setbacks. It really felt good holding a book with my name across the cover. I had finally achieved one of my dreams. It didn’t matter that the book was self-published with a cover and interior layout I designed on my own even though I had no background in graphic design.

I had big dreams. I dreamt of landing a book contract from Christian publishers. I studied how to write a book proposal. I followed former Thomas Nelson executive, Michael Hyatt’s advice on writing an effective book proposal. Throughout 2014, I submitted a book proposal for my second book to dozens of publishers.

Most publishers did not bother responding. The handful that responded referred me to their vanity press alternatives. One acquisition editor pointed out to me that my major weakness was that I was unknown. I…

View original post 2,432 more words

