A Holistic Journey

We go around self-absorbed.

He wasn’t very responsive over lunch. What’s gotten into him?
I’ve been so sick. I expected her to show more concern. How insensitive.
She’s kept away from my family and made me feel judged. How rude.
I won’t say what I really feel because he would think less highly of me.

We need to get over our self.

Our life is all about us, but their lives are not. Remember, as soon as we step outside and start interfacing with others, we have a pair of people with each person talking about the same thing from his own perspective, experiences, biases. I recently talked about this autobiographical listening we do, but wanted to look at this dynamic as it plays out when we feel slighted or offended.

He just mumbled during lunch? Maybe he had a headache. Or a fight with his wife. Shirley recently shared:

View original post 765 more words

